Comforting, creamy and easy Vegan Eggnog that is flavorful and delicious. Made with simple and minimal ingredients, this egg-free and dairy-free eggnog is a healthy alternative to the traditional holiday delight! (Spiked eggnog option included)
Eggnog is a traditional decadent holiday drink. There’s nothing like the holiday season, where eggnog is found everywhere. Doesn’t it seem like every dairy product has some form of eggnog flavor?
There’s a reason why! It’s because eggnog (and vegan eggnog at that!) is so freaking good! Warming spices of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and cardamom paired with both coconut milk and oat milk.
Eggnog is delicious served as is or spiked with some spiced rum or brandy. But you can also use it in cocktails, like an Eggnog White Russian!
Or to keep it booze-free, the perfect Christmas combo is to serve this recipe with an Oat Milk Hot Chocolate too!
What is Eggnog?
Eggnog is a rich, sweet, dairy-based drink. It is traditionally made with milk, cream, sugar, and eggs. The addition of eggs is what gives it the name. Sometimes, spirits such as brandy, rum, whisky or bourbon is added.
It’s traditionally a Christmas-time beverage, most often consumed cold with some warming spices on top like cinnamon and nutmeg. Eggnog can be served warm as well, similar to a mulled wine.
Highlights of this Recipe
This recipe is:
- Perfect for Vegan Holiday Entertaining
- Wholesome Ingredients
This oat milk eggnog is SOO easy you're going to wonder why you haven't made it before!!
- Oat Milk - Use your favorite oat milk. Substitute for any other non dairy milk alternative like almond milk or cashew milk.
- Coconut Milk - This helps add some more fat content to get a creamier, thicker eggnog. Omit, but the vegan eggnog will be thinner. You can use carton coconut milk, but the eggnog will not be as thick and creamy.
- Maple Syrup - Helps add a little sweetener to this holiday drink. Substitute for honey or agave nectar.
- Vanilla Extract
- Spices - This vegan eggnog recipe uses cinnamon, cardamom, nutmeg and cloves for the traditional Winter spices. I wouldn’t omit these, however the most “important” (it’s like choosing your favorite child!) of these spices are cinnamon and nutmeg.
Best Oat Milk to Use
So, what is the cleanest oat milk brand? There are quite a few clean oat milks out there. Look for oat milks that have:
- Few ingredients (think: oats, water and salt - the fewer the better)
- No gums (like xanthan gum)
- No oils (like canola oil, rapeseed oil)
- Glyphosate* free oats or organic oats or gluten free oats
*Glyphosate (an ingredient in pesticides that is toxic to plants) is found in non-organic ingredients. Wheats and grains can have higher levels of glyphosate and are better if purchased as glyphosate free, organic or gluten free.
Is Oat Milk Gluten Free?
Oats are not intrinsically gluten free.
Oat milk can be sometimes contaminated with gluten as they are processed in facilities with gluten. If you are celiac or have a stronger gluten intolerance, look for gluten-free certified oats.
Look for glyphosate free oats or gluten-free certified oats.
First, you are going to add all ingredients to a blender.
Blend together until all ingredients come together.
Drink as is, with coconut whipped cream or with fresh spices!
TIP! It's great if you can have the can of coconut milk sit in the fridge for at least 30 minutes, and best if overnight. This will help thicken the eggnog immediately. Otherwise it will thicken in the fridge.
Does Eggnog Have Alcohol?
Eggnog can be served with or without alcohol. It is absolutely delicious on its own, but you can also spike it with your favorite spirit!
Best Booze for Eggnog:
- Spiced Rum
How to Serve
Serve vegan eggnog in the traditional eggnog way: cold or room temperature. You can drink as is or hot.
Top with whipped coconut cream. Add spices on top like freshly grated nutmeg, or cinnamon. Garnish with a cinnamon stick or star anise.
This eggnog recipe can also be served in cocktails such as an Eggnog White Russian or Eggnog Martini. You can even substitute plant milk for the eggnog in oatmeal, chia seed pudding, overnight oats, or even to make an eggnog latte!
Frequently Asked Questions
Typically, eggnog uses eggs and heavy cream.
I love using oat milk for this eggnog recipe as I find it the creamiest. You can use almond milk, cashew milk, pumpkin seed milk, coconut milk, or whatever other non dairy milk you prefer!
The most recognizable part of traditional eggnog is the thick, creamy texture of it. Because a vegan eggnog doesn’t use eggs, you have to use a chilled can of full-fat coconut milk.
Other Festive Drinks
- Oat Milk Hot Chocolate
- Red Wine Sangria
- Holiday Elderflower Prosecco Cocktail
- Ginger Gin & Prosecco Cocktail
Creamy Vegan Eggnog
- 3 Cups Oat Milk
- 1 Can Full-Fat Coconut Milk
- 1 tablespoon Vanilla Extract
- 2 tablespoon Maple Syrup
- ½ teaspoon Ground Cinnamon
- ¼ teaspoon Ground Nutmeg
- ¼ teaspoon Ground Cloves
- ¼ teaspoon Ground Cardamom
- Pre-chill can of coconut milk in fridge - at least 20 minutes and up to overnight. If this step is skipped, it will still taste great, it won’t be as thick.1 Can Full-Fat Coconut Milk
- Once can of coconut milk is chilled, scoop solid coconut cream off top. Transfer cream to a high powered blender. Discard remaining liquid or reserve for other use (smoothies are a great option!).
- Add oat milk, vanilla extract, maple syrup, and spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and cardamom). Blend on high until completely smooth. About 3-5 minutes.3 Cups Oat Milk, 1 tablespoon Vanilla Extract, 2 tablespoon Maple Syrup, ½ teaspoon Ground Cinnamon, ¼ teaspoon Ground Nutmeg, ¼ teaspoon Ground Cardamom, ¼ teaspoon Ground Cloves
- Serve immediately as is. Garnish with pinch of cinnamon or cinnamon stick.
- Keep eggnog in refrigerator for up to one week. Some of the coconut cream may harden when refrigerated, so it’s best to stir or bring to room temperature before consuming.
Spiked Vegan Eggnog
- Follow prior steps.
- Once blended until completely smooth, add ¼-½ cup liquor of choice and stir to combine.
- Serve immediately, as is.